2020 Minor Championship Win - Report
 The Final

Sligo Champion  September 22, 2020

Superb clash as Shamrock Gaels win in extra time

Shamrock Gaels 2-26      Geevagh/St Michaels 3-17

This exciting minor match between neighbours Shamrock Gaels and Geevagh/ St Michaels needed extra time to decide the eventual winner of a superb evening of end-to-end football. Shamrock Gaels led at half time on a score-line of 2-9 to 0-7, goals coming from James Foley and the impressive Lee Deignan, while Kyle Davey kept Geevagh/St Michaels in touch. They were dealt a blow towards the end of the first half with Ciaran McKeon picking up a black card after 28 minutes.

Geevagh/St Michaels started the second half well with a free from Davey and another free from Thomas Flynn. They got closer to Shamrock Gaels with a goal coming from Darren Foley, but just as they were back into the match, they were reduced to 12 men as McKeon picked up a yellow card and his black in the opening half which meant he got his marching orders. A Darren Foley score and a free from Davey had them back within three points, the score-line reading 2-11 to 1-11.

Adam Kearns and Deignan put daylight between the sides once again. Four further points put seven points between them, with the attacking force of Deignan, Foley and Conor McMorrow looking like Gaels would ease to victory. Geevagh/St Michaels weren’t going to go without a fight and a goal from Brian O’Connor arrived after a great run by Thomas Flynn. They would get another goal with Kyle Davey’s ball being flicked to the net by Ben Graham. Deignan and McMorrow ensured they went three in front again but three unanswered points with a brace from Davey and a point from Simon McKeon sent the match into extra time.

Shamrock Gaels would win this match by six points on the spin in the opening half of extra time. Scores from Deignan and McMorrow were followed by a brace from Johnny Kenny to leave Shamrock Gaels in control. McKeon did respond to leave the scores at the break 2-23 to 3-15.

Gaels controlled the second period with the man of the match Deignan adding two further points to his impressive 1-13 tally.

Shamrock Gaels: Jack Duignan, Conor Sheridan, Aaron McKenna, Patrick Barrett, Daniel Murphy, Aodhan Eivers, David Barlow, Conor Kearns (0-1), Jason Kilkenny (0-1), Adam Kearns (0-1), Conor McMorrow (0-5 2f), James Foley (1-2), Lee Deignan (1-13 5f). Subs used: Johnny Kenny (0-2), Eoin Dwyer, Jay Rogers.

Geevagh/St Michaels: James Keegan, Diarmuid Gilmartin, Aaron Davey, Brian O’Connor (1-1), Ciaran McKeon, Oran McKenna, Dylan Gabbidon (0-1), Darren Foley (1-3), Simon McKeon (0-3), Ryan Lougheed, Thomas Flynn (0-1 1f), Niall Whelehan, Kyle Davey (0-8 3f). Subs used: Ben Graham (1-0), Diarmuid Lavin, Oran Blake, Aaron Mulvey.

Referee: Michael Conway