It was a disappointing weekend with both minor teams making their exit from the Championship.

First up was the Minor Girls who lost 3-15 to 0-6 against Galway Champions, Kilkerrin/Clonberne in the quarter final of the A Connaught Championship. The Girls were well in the game in the first half, however a stronger Kilkerrin/Clonberne slowly pulled away and we were left with a mountain to climb in the second half. The Girls however never gave up and went down fighting encouraged on by the large vocal Gaels contingent who had travelled to support the team. Thanks to the team for all their work this year and to managers Fiona Lyons, Michelle Tuohy and Aoife O'Connor for their work with the team. The team was: Meabh McDermott (C), Lisa O'Callaghan (Amy Healy), Aoife Morrisroe, Roisin Durey (Ellie McDermott), Isobel Clarke, Jade Lyons, Kate Brady, Eala McDermott (0-1), Louise Merrick, Rachel Boyd (0-3), Erin Mullaney (0-1), Roisin Kearns, Makayla McLoughlin (0-1), Mairead Tuohy (Chloe McTiernan), Jane Benson (Andie Brady). Kate Brehony, Nadine Hargadon.

The Minor boys had a heartbreaking loss to St Molaise Gaels in the Minor A Championship final. Having been in control of the game after clawing back a six point deficit in the second half, the Gaels went two points ahead in the closing stages and while they had chances to extend the lead, it was St Molaise Gaels who finished strongly scoring a goal in injury time to snatch victory on a final scoreline of 5-7 to 4-11. This has been a great year for the minor team and it was disappointing to lose in this way and only the team's second loss in both league and championship. Well done to the team who gave it all and to the management of Glen McDermott, Eugene Carroll, Hilary Lyons and Paul Higgins. The team was:  Daniel Lyons, Dylan Burke (0-2), Evan Lyons, Bryan Johnston, Seamus Hailstones (0-1), Sean Carroll, Ryan Fitzpatrick, Dillion McDermott, James Carroll (0-1) Michael Barry, Patrick Benson, Aaron McKenna, Lee Deignan (0-1) Dylan Willis (4-0), Shane Deignan (1-2). Subs: Brendan Hailstones, Adrian Benson, Christian Monaghan, Conor Kearns.

While today was disappointing for both minor teams, we should reflect on their achievements over the last four years as most of these players move to adult football. Both of these teams represented Sligo at Feile in 2014, with the Girls winning the Feile All Ireland Shield while in the same year both teams won their respective U14 A Championships on the same memorable day in Collooney. They then went on to win many other titles with many of them representing Sligo at various levels and this year the Girls won the A Championship and the boys won the A League to round off a very successful underage career.  They have brought great success to the club with many memorable and enjoyable days for parents and supporters and we look forward to both teams going on to represent the club at senior level in the years to come.

Congrats to Tourlestrane on making it three in a row and well done to the Enniscrone/Kilglass club for the very successful hosting of the County finals today.

The U13 Feile team had a great win over Drumcliffe/Rosses Point last Thursday after extra time in the A Feile semi-final. They now take on St Marys in the final - date TBC.

All roads next Sunday lead to Cloonacool and Bunninadden with both our Ladies and Mens senior teams contesting Championship finals against Curry. First up the Ladies play Curry in Cloonacool at 12.15PM in the Junior Final with the men taking on Curry in Bunninadden at 3.30PM in the Intermediate final - please come out in force to support both teams.

There was no winner of the lotto last weekend with the numbers drawn 10, 11, 12 and 27. There was one match 3 winner, Aine & Maria Brennan. The next draw is this Saturday 20th in McDermotts, Castlebaldwin with the jackpot at €4,800.

The club wish to express sympathy with the family and relatives of Martin Kearns, Sligo and formerly of Geevagh, Brian McGonigle, London and formerly of Riverstown and Maurice Conboy, Tubbercurry who died recently.